Today’s meeting

2月 7, 2008 at 9:00 pm 1件のコメント

I had the meeting up with roscivs this evening. This is one of my joy in a week. I like his good attitude of learning Japanese. I learn not only English from him, but also an atitude of leaning language.
Today’s topics started from what he did this week. He told me that in Japanese and I corrected his unnatural Japanese expression. I asked him about his topics in English or Japanese and then he answered me in Japanese or English. I enjoyed coversiations like this.

<Memo-1>
The following topic is one of the things I remember well.
“飲む” in Japanese includes “drink”,”get” and “have” in English depending on the situation.
(1)Do you wanna have a glass of wine?
(2)Do you wanna have a cup of coffee?
(3)Do you wanna have a beer?
(4)Do you wanna have a glass of beer? 
((3) is more common. Because a beer is served with a glass normaly in America)
(5)Do you drink a beer? 
(This is not suitable if I want to ask him/her if he/she want a beer now.  This question is used when we ask bout someone’s habitual thing)

<Memo-2>
(1)I watched a football game.
(2)I went to a football game.
If I went to a football game and watched a game. I should use (2). If I say (1), my conversiation pertner would understatnd I watched a game on TV, not on a game site.

<Memo-3>
We talked about “級” and “段” of Japanese “習い事”.
If there is the range “1級~4級” in Japanese expression, that means “Level4 ~Level1”. That makes us confused. 
This talk came from “JLPT” topics.

Then I explained about my uncle. He has “段” on “そろばん”(Japanese abacus).
(1)My uncle can do very complicated arithmetic in his head.
(2)My uncle can do very complicated math in his head.
Expression (2) is more natural for speeking.

<Memo-4>
We talked about St.Valentain’s day, difference between Japanese and American custam. This was hot topics.
I wanna write about this another day.

Than you, roscivs.

ラースくん仕事でお疲れのところ来てくれて、いつもありがとうございます!

追記:
ラースくんがコメントに、上記の私の妙な英文を自然な英語表現に直して投稿してくれました。うーん、自然だ(当り前?)。読めても、書けない(´_`。)。こんな風に英語が使えるようになりたいなー。ラースくん、ありがとう!

Entry filed under: English Blog.

Jazz – ジャズ I have a dreem. – 夢

1件のコメント Add your own

  • 1. roscivs  |  2月 9, 200810:10 am

    I met with roscivs this evening. This is one of my favorite things of the week. I like his good attitude toward learning Japanese. I’m not only learning English from him, but also learning from how he approaches learning languages.

    Today’s topics started from what he did this week. He told me in Japanese, then I corrected any unnatural Japanese expressions. I asked him about the various things either in Japanese or in English, and then he answered me either in Japanese or in English. I enjoy conversations like this.

    Memo 1:

    The following topic is one of the things I remember well. “Nomu” in Japanese includes “drink”, “get”, and “have” in English, depending on the situation.
    (1) Do you want to have a glass of wine?[1]
    (2) Do you want to have a cup of coffee?
    (3) Do you want to have a beer?
    (4) Do you want to have a glass of beer?
    ((3 is more common, because beer isn’t always served in a glass in America.[2])
    (5) Do you drink beer?
    (You don’t ask this if you want to ask him/her if he/she wants a beer now. This question is used only when you’re asking about habitual actions.)

    Memo 2:
    (1) I watched a football game.
    (2) I went to a football game.
    If I actually went to the stadium to watch the game, I should use (3). If I say (1), the person would probably think I watched the game on TV, not at the stadium.)

    Memo 3:
    We talked about “kyu” and “dan” of Japanese “naraigoto”. If there is a range from “1 kyu” to “4 kyu” in Japanese, that means “Level 4” to “Level 1” in English. (In other words, “1 kyu” is the hardest level, and “4 kyu” is the easiest level.) That’s confusing!

    This came up because we were talking about the “JLPT”.

    Then I talked about my uncle, who is “dan”-level on the “soroban” (Japanese abacus).
    (1) My uncle can do very complicated arithmetic in his head.
    (2) My uncle can do very complicated math problems in his head.[3]
    Expression (2) is more natural when speaking.

    Memo 4:

    We talked about St. Valentine’s day, and differences between Japanese and American customs. This was a very exciting topic. I want to write about this some more another day.

    More notes from roscivs:
    [1] Even though “want to” is almost always pronounced “wanna”, you rarely spell it that way when writing, unless you want to emphasize the informality or lack of education of the speaker. I’d recommend writing “want to” and just remembering to pronounce it “wanna” when you read it.

    [2] Your original said the opposite of this; I wasn’t sure if that was a mistake or a misunderstanding. Beer can come in a glass, a bottle, or a can, depending on a variety of different factors. This (I think) is one of the reasons that “Do you want a beer?” is much more common than “Do you want a glass of beer?”

    [3] I asked my wife about these sentences. She said that people don’t usually use the word “arithmetic” unless “you’re a children’s pedagogy philosopher”. She said that “math problems” instead of just “math” is probably would people would normally say.

    I hope this helps!

    返信する

コメントを残す

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


2008年2月
« 1月   3月 »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

最近の投稿

アーカイブ


